OCS-linux-075: Linux Essentials

This five-day course is designed for individuals with little to no previous Linux or UNIX experience. The focus of the class is to provide the student with an in-depth knowledge of common tasks performed both via the Graphic User Interface and the command line interface.

Students are taught by an instructor who is both RHCSA™ and RHCE™ certified. All students are provided the following:

  • Printed and digital copies of our excellent courseware in which exam objective topics are clearly marked
  • Access to courseware updates for up to a year after class
  • Online access to OCS's exam prep guide
  • A classroom-based Operating System on a bootable USB
  • A copy of "Hands-on Guide to the Red Hat® Exams: RHCSA™ and RHCE™ Cert Guide and Lab Manual"

Classes are available both in a classroom setting and online. Full day classes and half-day classes are scheduled. Click the Length tab for more details.

  1. Basic Linux Concepts
    • Logging in
    • Changing password
    • Basic command usage

  2. Using the GUIs
    • Linux desktops
    • Using GNOME
    • Customizing GNOME

  3. The Filesystem
    • Filesystem structure
    • Accessing the filesystem
    • Changing the filesystem

  4. Handling Files
    • Copy & move files
    • Viewing files
    • Removing files

  5. File Manipulation
    • Filter commands
    • Finding files
    • Comparing files

  6. Metacharacters
    • Wildcards
    • Redirection of Input & Output

  7. Shell Features
    • Shell variables
    • Command aliases
    • Quoting

  8. File Security
    • Understanding file permissions
    • Setting file permissions
    • Default permissions

  9. The vim editor
    • vim functionality
    • Input & movement commands
    • advanced vim commands

  10. Jobs and processes
    • Listing jobs & processes
    • Stopping and pausing jobs & processes

  11. File Compression
    • tar
    • gzip
    • zip

  12. Using crontabs and at
    • Schedule processes with crontab
    • anacron
    • Schedule processes with at

  13. Shell programming
    • Conditional statements
    • Input/output
    • Signals
    • Debugging

  14. Installation
    • Installation requirements
    • Installation methods
    • Interactive installations
Full day classes run 5 days, Monday-Friday, from 9AM-5PM.

Half-day classes are held over a two week period in one of two timeslots:

A Timeslot

Pacific Time Zone: 1:30PM - 4:30PM
Mountain Time Zone: 2:30PM - 5:30PM
Central Time Zone: 3:30PM - 6:30PM
Eastern Time Zone: 4:30PM - 7:30PM

B Timeslot

Pacific Time Zone: 5:30PM - 8:30PM
Mountain Time Zone: 6:30PM - 9:30PM
Central Time Zone: 7:30PM - 10:30PM
Eastern Time Zone: 8:30PM - 11:30PM

Prior to attending this class, students should have the following experience:
  • Basic computer knowledge
  • Basic keyboarding skills